The Salaf, The Qur’an and The Month of Ramadan

Imaam Maalik bin Anas – may Allah have mercy upon him – used to teach the people hadeeth, narrating it to them inside the Prophet’s Masjid, but when the month of Ramadhaan came he used to stop his lessons, take out his mus-haf and turn towards the Qiblah telling the people this is the month of the Qur’aan.

Imaam Aboo Haneefah – may Allah have mercy upon him – was asked how often do you finish the Qur’aan? He replied, do you mean [that which I complete] on a monthly basis or a daily basis? The man replied on a daily basis, Imaam Aboo Haneefah said do you mean [that which I complete] during the day or the night? The man said during the day, Imaam Aboo Haneefah said do you mean [that which I complete] reading from the mus-haf or in my Salah?

I read this on Khalduun.com, and as soon as I read this, I decided that if Imam Maalik bin Anas can stop teaching hadith, then my blog can, and should wait until after Ramadan.

May we all have a productive and blessed Ramadan, and make the most out of it, Aameen!

P.S. I’m travelling tomorrow, so if any of you have any special dua request do let me know, I’ll remember to pray for you inshaAllah.

4 thoughts on “The Salaf, The Qur’an and The Month of Ramadan

Leave some feedback

