Teacher’s Day: 5th October, 2013

This post is long due since 5th October – World Teacher’s Day. It was celebrated in our school on 4th October since 5th was falling on a Saturday which is a holiday for students. An announcement was made to the students that they can leave a message on the soft board for any of the teachers, written on a slip of paper. The response from students was overwhelming! The soft board was spilled with sweet words and colors from the students for their various teachers and it got filled up pretty soon so the rest of the messages were put up outside the office window!

The Soft board and window, full of messages from the students (Click on images to view full size)

DSC_0087 DSC_0088

I was truly surprised to see so many messages on the soft board for me, as I was not expecting such an overwhelming response from my students in the first month of my teaching. But my first Teacher’s Day as a teacher was truly amazing Alhamdulillah!

Some messages addressed to me

DSC_0085  DSC_0086  DSC_0089  DSC_0090  DSC_0091  DSC_0084

Apart from the messages, the greeting cards which I got from not just my own class but from students of other classes too were really touching. One of the girls drew “me” teaching at the blackboard and said “I couldn’t draw you with your scarf but it looks very nice” =D

DSC_0121

On this day I wanted to send a message across to all my teachers, whose hard work and diligence have made me what I am today. Being a teacher, now I realize how hard it was for my teachers to do what they did in me, and I aspire to transfer some of that on to my students inshaAllah! I have moved far away from the place where my schooling took place, so I cannot visit my teachers anymore, but in my heart I remember them all, value their efforts even more than before, pray for their well-being, and cherish the memories.

I was not one of the best students in class, I was intelligent yes, but I was one of the toughest students in class if I look back at my behaviour now from a teacher’s point of view. How my teachers managed to teach me what they have, is still a mystery to me. The impressions are etched on my mind, the knowledge fills my brain, in spite of being the most disturbance creating, and least attention paying student that I was.And I wonder how much more could I have learnt if I was a better and more hardworking student. But in my heart I always respected my teachers, and the respect has grown ten times more ever since I have started teaching. Sometimes I wonder, what would it feel like when I meet one of my students all grown up and successful in their life inshaAllah…

I wished to write about all my teachers, share all the memories that I have of my favourite teachers, but maybe on next Teacher’s Day inshaAllah! All I would like to say is, that if a lazy, non-serious, non-attentive student like me is standing where I am today, it’s all because of my teachers and they have no doubt succeeded in their job exceptionally well. Alhamdulillah that I got the best teachers in my life, and I pray to Allah to grant me enough knowledge, patience and wisdom to be a good teacher to my students as my teachers have been to me and even better! Aameen!

2 thoughts on “Teacher’s Day: 5th October, 2013

Leave some feedback

