Lab-e-shireen

I am re-posting this recipe for this Eid, and also to participate in the Eid Eats 2014 hosted by dear fellow bloggers Flour & Spice and Chocolate & Chillies.

final eid eats

This is my most favourite dessert! I wish there was a healthy version of it that I could eat everyday. But since there isn’t till now, I make it only on Eid, and I can never get enough of it! The name comes from persian which literally means “The Sweet Lips” and it sure makes your lips sweet! I can eat loads of it and not feel guilty because I keep my mind on the fruits and nuts in it, not on the sugars =D

Some people use canned fruit cocktail for a quick version of this recipe, but in my opinion it’s still not quick because it needs chilling time, and I love the flavours, aroma and texture of fresh fruits. I also don’t believe in short-cutting of recipes to save time and sacrifice flavours and health, I’d rather spend some more time in the kitchen and make a healthier, tastier dish than save time. So here is my most treasured dessert and recipe, shared with you all!

DSC_0022

 

 

Image0915

Yum yum! I want to dig into it right now, don’t you?

Ingredients:
Oil/ Ghee: 3 tablespoons
Coloured seviyan (vermicelli): 1 cup {Note: Vermicelli is not the kind used for decorations on cake etc, it’s the kind which is similar to spaghetti but very fine. You can use regular vermicelli if you can’t find colored. Looks like this:
colored: rainbow vermiccli
regular: 
Milk: 4 cups
Sugar: 5 tablespoons (or to taste)
Vanilla Custard powder: 4 tablespoons (dissolve in a little cold milk)
Cream: 200 ml
Condensed milk: 1 tin (397 grams)
Bananas (finely sliced): 1 cup
Grapes (halved): 1 cup
Apples ( finely chopped): 1 cup
{or pineapple, strawberry, mango etc. any soft fruit you like, total fruit should be approx 3 cups. I like to use as much fruits as I can}
Pistachio and almonds, silvered (or any nuts): 1/4 cup (or as desired)
Jelly: 1 packet (If you want to use more than one color then adjust quantity accordingly)
Rosewater: 1-2 tablespoon

Method:
Fry vermicelli in oil, for a few seconds, don’t let it turn golden. Add milk and boil until vermicelli turns soft then add sugar and custard powder (dissolved in cold milk) and whisk till it becomes thick. Remove from heat and keep stirring occasionally until it is cooled to room temperature, whisk in cream and condensed milk. Add in the prepared fruits and nuts (save some for garnish of desired) and refrigerate until chilled.
Prepare jelly according to directions on package and chill until set. Cut in small cubes and refrigerate until serving time.
When chilled well, stir in rosewater and mix in a few jelly pieces. Garnish with nuts, jelly shapes, extra fruits and serve immediately.

P.S.If it feels too sweet, add a little chilled milk to lessen the sweetness, taking care not to thin it down.

10 thoughts on “Lab-e-shireen

  1. My childhood favourite dessert. I do prefer coloured vermicelli for lab e shereen, it just give the five star kinda look to dessert bowl. Hehe :)
    Well, I never use condensed milk in it. Didn’t it make final outcome double sweet?

    • Yes the colored vermicelli makes it look really festive and I always use colored ones too =) but I gave the other option so that if colored is unavailable to some they shouldn’t refrain from trying the delicious recipe.
      Not really, because the cream is not sweetened and sugar in custard can be adjusted…sometimes if it ends up getting too sweet I add some cold milk to make up for it. If you’re feeling that the condensed milk might make it too sweet, just add half of it and then keep adding until it’s as sweet as you like it. That way you can control the sweetness and also get the creamy effect of condensed milk :)

    • You must give it a try, I’m sure you’ll love it! Coloured vermicelli is easily available in Pakistan, though I’m not sure if it’s available abroad or not. When I was abroad I never found it, good luck to you =)
      Eid Mubarak to you too and thank you for hosting such a great event!

Leave some feedback

